Its my happening baby, and it freaks me out (a guest writers psychedelic odyssey)

1

November 15, 2012 by sshhoobbmmxxbblloogg

here’s a lovely post from my CATHOLIC DISCIPLINE co-pilot, Dame Judi Hench aka Dru Cipher aka Drew Symes.
i asked him to give a list of his top ten psychedelic rock gems, but DJH being DJH he gave twelve.

check ’em;

1) Children of the Sun – The Misunderstood.
    from California managed by one John Peel who talked them in to moving to London in the mid-60’s   a much overlooked band (when compared to other bands on this list, and in the general public) – this song rocks from the first beat, staple psych lyrics about love and mind expansion, a pounding beat, great guitars. Just a fantastic band. if you don’t like this song you don’t like music… full stop

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrRImjZlD38

2) S.F. Sorrow is born – The Pretty Things
    Dick Taylor, before was in a band that never amounted to much – The Rollin’ Stones, having been in a band with Mick & Keef. I have to thank a dear friend for this one, long nights smoking weed and listening to the album S.F. Sorrow, which is one of the first concept albums, this song very much English psych in its structure with Beatlesque horns through it.  Starting the story of Sebastian F. Sorrow, sadly its release was the same week as ‘The White Album’, Beggars Banquet & The Kinks are the Village Green Preservation Society so it was not promoted by EMI very much at the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgwnC-pEw3k

3) Over The Rainbow – Neighb’rhood Childr’n

    Yes, its that song… a more recent find this one, I’m partial to a good cover and this is a corker.  this song is just awesome, I can’t express that enough, the drumming in particular.  The band toured extensively with opening for acts like The Who, Deep Purple & The Turtles… encountering lots of problems on tour the entire band became religious and changed their name to White Horse and disbanded in 1970.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XhIx49WqhI

4) I had too much too dream (last night) – The Electric Prunes

    Wildly known for being the opening song, and what an opening, on Nuggets. I love this song more than I like some people, I fell in love with it after a particularly bad break up many moons back. There is nothing bad about this song, at all.  Interesting fact about the Electric Prunes, Kenny Loggins was briefly in the band in 1969.  Also check out Mass in F Minor produced by David Axelrod its a fantastic example of psych.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-kVFfKezVo

5) You’re Gonna Miss Me – The 13th Floor Elevators

    Possibly the most seminal of all psych groups, fronted by the legend Roky Erickson, this song was only one of two of theirs to chart (#55 Billboard pop chart in 1966); I was introduced to this band by a friend who came round my old house to play computer games (pokemon snap (n64)) drink wine, smoke and play music.  He brought the album over and it just clicked in my head.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OytJYBfwUk

6) Incense and Peppermints – Strawberry Alarm Clock

    Definitely the most psych of song titles and band names.  This song came in to my knowledge in a flat in Bournemouth, just hanging out on a Sunday afternoon, coming down from the night before, and someone put on Russ Meyer’s Beyond The Valley of The Dolls, and Strawberry Alarm Clock are playing Z-man Barzell’s party, where he says “This is my happening, baby, and it freaks me out” and the farm fresh girl group are amazed that the Strawberry Alarm Clock are playing his party.  This scene was lifted pretty much wholesale in to Austin Powers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOs1O85uEfA

7) Tales of Brave Ulysses – Cream

    from the amazing album Disraeli Gears, The band made up Jack Bruce, Eric Clapton and Catweazle made great music and this is definitely one of my favourite of theirs.  I don’t remember when I started listening to them, they’ve always seemed to be around my musical conscious, I go off them and then I’ll hear this or sunshine of your love (the second best version (best being Spanky Wilson)) and I’ll start listening to them again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8hLc_nqx8g

8) I Won’t Leave My Wooden Wife For You, Sugar – The United States of America

    A pioneering band using electronic music, popular in the New York experimental scene, Nico tried to join this band at one point. This song is a parody of another song “I wouldn’t leave my wooden hut for you” I was introduced to this band by another ex-housemate who tended to like the more metal sides of things, she brought this in one evening, I initially baulked at her putting this on but I was more than pleasantly surprised by this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUCBArbKtMw

9) If 6 was 9 – Jimi Hendrix

    I have liked Hendrix (like Cream) on and off for more years than I can actually remember. This song is a great song, and the more astute of you will realise that its the song used to soundtrack the party scene in the classic movie “Pointbreak” and if I hated Hendrix thats reason enough to include it on this list as I love that film.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0VP5sWzcK8

10) Alone Again Or – Love

    Another band I don’t remember getting in to, I saw Love back somewhen with a full orchestra doing the full Forever Changes album, and I cried when Arthur Lee died.  I remember that the girl who is the girl in the Electric Prunes memory, her best friend had us over for dinner one night, I brought wine and music, and this album was one of the albums, she asked who it was, and I enthused saying that they were one of the best bands from the 60’s.  She said she had never heard of them, well I said thats because you know fuck all about music and some other random insults… needless to say the dinner party was ruined…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNcXFy8QTC4

11) Interstellar Overdrive – Pink Floyd

    Oh my schoolfriends hated me liking Pink Floyd, but then they hated music (one of them willingly bought 2Unlimited) I just love them, and Syd Barrett was a genius, another guy when he died I played all my Syd Barrett recordings (Pink Floyd and Solo) over again and I cried.  This song is almost 10 minutes of psych wonderfulness

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jq5t7Y_BYIM

12) Time Has Come Today – The Chambers Brothers

    This band is technically psychedelic soul, however this song is a pure minutes of psych rock… I used to play this song in solo DJ sets as its a perfect ‘fag & pint’ song for any DJ as its so long and it has a great fade about three minutes in which turns in to a wicked freakout.  I do love this song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHfB63ln1Ig

for this and more insights into his thoughts hit him up on the twitter : http://twitter.com/dru_cipher

One thought on “Its my happening baby, and it freaks me out (a guest writers psychedelic odyssey)

  1. clinock says:

    Kool blog you – much honoured by your follow at art rat cafe – look forward to taking in more of your posts – music, music, music…

Leave a Reply

