THE SOUNDS THAT SHAPED ME; #5 TRAVIS KELLER (BUDDYHEAD)

2

November 27, 2012 by sshhoobbmmxxbblloogg

another day, another glance into the heads of people who actually have something fucking cool to say. this time its buddyhead head honcho Travis Keller. check it;

+++

Guns N’ Roses – I still remember being ten years old, standing in my parents kitchen watching the music video for “Welcome To The Jungle” and being completely overwhelmed with excitement. “Appetite for Destruction” was the first rock n’ roll record that I could call mine. And, as lame as this sounds, it’s also totally the reason I moved to Los Angeles at a mere age of seventeen years old. Thanks Axl?

Nirvana & Mudhoney – Growing up as a misguided youth in the Northwest (near Seattle) it shouldn’t be surprising that allot of the bands from there had a huge impact on me. I stalked Mudhoney as a 14 year old and was later rewarded with being able to release their song “Hard On For War” years later on the “Buddyhead Presents: Gimme Skelter” compilation. I was also a huge fan of the way Sub Pop records did things with their whole “World Domination” marketing, all of which would heavily inspire the way I would do Buddyhead.

Minor Threat – “Complete Discography”: An older friend of mine lent me this cd when I was 14 and I still have that copy today. Not only was this the first punk rock record I ever heard, but it’s also the best punk rock record I’ve ever heard still to this day. I guess I got lucky by hearing the cream of the crop first. I remember thinking this just sounded like complete noise and really not understanding what this was at first. Only to fall completely in love with this band and their “Don’t drink, don’t smoke, don’t fuck” attitude two days later.

Los Angeles, California – Although I wasn’t born and raised here, I wasn’t really allowed to grow up until I moved here. After living here for almost 20 years now, I totally consider Los Angeles to be my city. I love this place.

The Rolling Stones – If you’re a fan of rock n’ roll and say that this band didn’t somehow shape who you are, then you’re a liar. It’s The Stones man, pretty much all of it starts here. This is the steak and potatoes of the rock n’ roll diet. Although there isn’t much by these fogies that I don’t like, my hands down favorite HAS to be “Exile on Main Street” (with Keef’s “Happy” being my all time favorite track). But I can also get down with all the Abco shit, “Beggars Banquet”, “Let It Bleed”, “Sticky Fingers”, “Goats Head Soup”, “Some Girls”, “Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out!” and even “Emotional Rescue” at any given moment!

Bob Dylan – There’s never been anyone in music that’s this good with words before and I think it’s safe to say there never will be again. My favorite Dylan song is (actually the first one he ever wrote) titled “Song To Woody”, my favorite Dylan poem is “Last Thoughts On Woody Guthrie” and my favorite albums by him are “Blood on the Tracks”, “Bringing It All Back Home”, “Highway 61 Revisited”, “Blonde on Blonde”, “Desire” and a bunch of those Bootleg Series albums.

The Velvet Underground – Everything these guys did with Lou Reed had a huge impact on me and led me to so many of my other favorite bands like The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Stooges, The Modern Lovers, David Bowie, The Pixies, Nirvana, Spacemen 3.

The Stooges – “Funhouse” & “S/T” – It’s not that I don’t like “Raw Power”, it’s just that these two are so much better. “Funhouse” obviously being the best. This is the birth of punk and the crazy thing is that 40 plus years on you still can’t fuck with this shit.

Bill Hicks – Not only a comedian but a prophet as well. I love Willie.

Traveling – Getting to tour around the world with various bands (mostly my homes The Icarus Line) most of my 20’s and into my 30’s has opened my eyes wider than anything else in my life. I feel super lucky to have been and experienced all of the places I’ve been around the world. The best part about traveling though is always returning to Los Angeles once again and falling in love with her all over again.

+++

go forth and check out BUDDYHEAD here or tweet Travis at @BUDDYHEAD

2 thoughts on “THE SOUNDS THAT SHAPED ME; #5 TRAVIS KELLER (BUDDYHEAD)

  1. […] dudes over at https://sshhoobbmmxxbblloogg.wordpress.com also asked me to list ten things that shaped me, so I figured seeing as how I wrote em I can […]

  2. Jesus Hitchhikers Word Multi David Space Consciousness Angels Fear Evolve Wake
    Moody Answers God Search Life Major Freedom Life Official Guide Zeus
    Up Duality Caesar Metaphysical Text Puzzle Karma Celebrities Soul Travis
    Guide Tom Dimensional Universe Telepathy Galaxy Keller Facebook LOVE Everything.

Leave a Reply

